Bringing the past to present times


The Napoleonic era, named after Napoleon Bonaparte.

For a period of 22 years, from 1793 to 1815 Britain waged war with France. There were two brief respites, in 1802-3 and 1814. What began as a war to check France’s avowed intention of carrying her revolutionary aims beyond her frontiers, had became, by 1800, a war to check the grandiose ambitions of her self-crowned Emperor, Napoleon I.

wellington at waterloo 1815
Waterloo 1815

The Battle of Waterloo (18th June 1815), the defeat of Napoleon Bonaparte

burning of washington, 1814
America 1812-1815

Campaign in America (8th June 1812 – 17th February 1815)

siege of vlissingen 1809
Walcheren 1809

Walcheren (1809), an unsuccessful British expedition to the Netherlands

the 88th foot at the battle of salamanca, 1812
Peninsular War 1808-1814

The Peninsular War (2nd May 1808 – 17th April 1814)

defence of buenos aires by the tercio de gallegos
Buenos Aires 1806-1807

Buenos Aires (1806-1807)

british royal marines disembarking from a task-force fleet in boats at aboukir bay 1801
Egypt 1801-1802

The Egyptian Campaign (1801-1802)

the last effort and fall of tipu sultan 1799
India 1799-1806

The Campaigns in India (1799-1806), known as the Anglo-Mysore Wars.

english troops at calantsoog, north holland 1799
Helder Campaign 1799

The Anglo-Russian invasion of Holland (27th August – 19th November 1799)

irish rebellion 1798
Irish Rebellion 1798

The Irish Rebellion (1798), an uprising against British rule in Ireland.

the capture of fort saint louis, martinique
West Indies 1793-1798

The Campaigns in The West Indies (1793-1798)