War of the Roses

War of the Roses, the end of a King and the start of the Tudor dynasty.

For thirty years, a bitter struggle for the English throne was waged between two branches on the same family, the House of York (White rose) and the House of Lancaster (Red rose), both descended from King Edward lll. The division between the two families became known as The Wars of the Roses.

The House of Lancaster The House of York
The House of Lancaster The House of York

The lead up to the War of the Roses

1450 King Henry VI was considered by many to be incapable of carrying out the roles bestowed on him as King.

22nd March 1454 When Cardinal John Kemp (the Chancellor) died, Henry was incapable of nominating a successor. To ensure that the country could be governed, a Council of Regency was set up which was headed by Richard Plantagenet (3rd Duke of York) who was popular with the people as Lord Protector.

In a feud with Henry Percy (2nd Earl of Northumberland), Richard Plantagenet imprisoned Edmund Beaufort (2nd Duke of Somerset) in the Tower of London.

Battle of the War of the Roses

22nd May 1455 - First Battle of St. Albans 15th Century Suite of Amour
23rd September 1459 - Battle of Blore Heath
12th October 1459 - Battle of Ludford Bridge
10th July 1460 - Battle of Northampton
30th December 1460 - Battle of Wakefield
2nd February 1461 - Battle of Mortimor's Cross
17th February 1461 - Second Battle of St. Albans
28th March 1461 - Battle of Ferrybridge
29th March 1461 - Battle of Towton
25th April 1464 - Battle of Hedgeley Moor
15th May 1464 - Battle of Hexham
26th July 1469 - Battle of Edgecote Moor
12th March 1470 - Battle of Losecote Field (Empingham)
14th April 1471 - Battle of Barnet
4th May 1471 - Battle of Tewkesbury
22nd August 1485 - Battle of Bosworth
16th June 1487 - Battle of Stoke

Kings of the War of the Roses

Henry Tudor (1457-1509)  
Richard Plantagenet (1452-1485)